Republic of the Philippines

REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL

MIMAROPA Region Calapan City

EXCERPTS FROM THE MINUTES OF THE FIRST QUARTER RDC FULL COUNCIL MEETING HELD ON MARCH 4, 2022 THROUGH VIDEO CONFERENCING

RDC Resolution No. 2022-078-1078

ENJOINING REGIONAL GOVERNMENT OFFICES (RGOS), LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (LGUS), AND OTHER STAKEHOLDERS TO USE MIMAROPA WHEN REFERRING TO THE SOUTHWESTERN TAGALOG REGION

WHEREAS, Philippine Standard Geographic Code (PSGC) was developed in 1976 by the Statistical Coordination Office (now the Philippine Statistics Authority) through its Inter-Agency Committee (IAC) on Geographic Classification by integrating the different geographic classification systems used by different government agencies;

WHEREAS, PSGC is a systematic classification and coding of geographic areas in the Philippines wherein the units of classification are based on the four well-established levels of geographical-political subdivisions of the country such as the region, the province, the municipality/city and the barangay;

WHEREAS, PSGC was published in 1977 and was recommended by Statistical Advisory Board (SAB Resolution No. 4-76) for adoption by all concerned government agencies to ensure a uniform and compatible system of compiling and processing of statistics requiring geographic disaggregation;

WHEREAS, on July 17, 2016, Republic Act No. 10879 was enacted which establish the Southwestern Tagalog Region to be known as the MIMAROPA Region in accordance with Article VI, Section 17 (1) of Philippine Constitution with geographical code of 170000000 and geographical-political units comprising of five provinces of Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Marinduque, Romblon, and Palawan, two cities of Calapan and Puerto Princesa, 71 municipalities, and 1,460 barangays;

WHEREAS, since the enactment of RA No. 10879, the public is not yet fully aware of the Southern Tagalog Region to be called as MIMAROPA Region;

WHEREAS, PSA MIMAROPA is promoting the use of PSGC and would like to encourage the public to use MIMAROPA when referring to the Southwestern Tagalog Region or IV-B;

WHEREAS, Development Administration Committee, during its 1st quarter meeting on February 22 virtually through Zoom, recommended RDC support in enjoining all regional government offices (RGOs), local government units (LGUs), and other stakeholders to use MIMAROPA when referring to the Southwestern Tagalog Region;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, to enjoin regional government offices (RGOs), local government units (LGUs), and other stakeholders to use MIMAROPA when referring to the Southwestern Tagalog Region.

CERTIFIED CORRECT:

ATTESTED:

BERNARDINO A. ATIENZA, JR.

Acting RDC Secretary

GOV. JOSE R. RIANO RDC Chairperson