

# Committee on Economic Affairs Joint with the Committee on Trade & Industry

## AGENDA

February 21, 2023, (Tuesday), 10:00 A.M. via Zoom Video Conference Platform

Meeting ID: 950 9144 1476 Password: 232499

**Zoom Link:** https://zoom.us/j/95091441476?pwd=ckQ3NnY1d3lEVVBjUU02Ynlyd3FSZz09

- I. Call to Order
- II. Roll Call/Determination of Quorum
- III. Approval of the Minutes of the Previous Meeting dated November 22, 2022
- IV. Acknowledgement of Resource Persons/Guests
- V. Preliminary Remarks by the Chairpersons

Hon. Gerardo P. Valmayor, Jr.

Chairperson, Committee on Economic Affairs

Hon. Mario Vittorio "Marvey" A. Mariño

Chairperson, Committee on Trade and Industry

VI. Consideration of the following measures:

## **LOCAL BILLS**

- a. "Marinduque Special Economic Zone Act"
  - i. House Bill No. 33, entitled "An Act Establishing a Special Economic Zone in the Municipality of Santa Cruz, Province of Marinduque, Creating for the Purpose the Marinduque Special Economic Zone Authority, Appropriating Funds Therefor and for Other Purposes" by Representative Lord Allan Jay Q. Velasco
- b. "Surigao City Special Economic Zone and Freeport Act"
  - i. **House Bill No. 98**, entitled "An Act Establishing the Surigao City Special Zone and Freeport, Providing Funds Therefor and Other Purposes" by Representative Robert Ace S. Barbers
- c. "Bohol Island Special Economic Zone (BISEZ) Act of 2022"
  - i. House Bill No. 605, "An Act Establishing a Special Economic Zone in the Municipalities of Tubigon, Calape, Loon and Maribojoc in the Province of Bohol to be Known as the Bohol Island Special Economic Zone (BISEZ), Creating for the Purpose the Bohol Island Special Economic Zone Authority (BISEZA),

Appropriating Finds Therefor and for Other Purposes" by Representative Edgar M. Chatto

## d. "Cagayan de Oro Special Economic Zone Act"

i. **House Bill No. 1459**, "An Act Establishing The Cagayan De Oro Special Economic Zone in Barangay Balubal, Cagayan De Oro City, Province of Misamis Oriental, Creating for the Purpose the Cagayan De Oro Special Economic Zone Authority, and Appropriating Funds Therefor" by Representative Rufus B. Rodriguez

# e. "Southern Leyte Economic Zone and Freeport Act of 2017"

i. House Bill No. 2378, "An Act Establishing the Economic Zone and Freeport in the Province of Southern Leyte Creating for the Purpose the Southern Leyte Economic Zone and Freeport Authority, Appropriating Funds Therefor and for Other Purposes" by Representative Luz V. Mercado

## f. Special Economic Zones in Iligan

## i. "Iligan Special Economic Zone Act"

1. House Bill No. 3471, "An Act Establishing the Iligan Special Economic Zone in the Area Occupied and Utilized by the National Steel Corporation Located at Barangay Suarez, Iligan City, Lanao Del Norte, Creating for the Purpose the Iligan City, Lanao Del Norte, Creating for this Purpose The Iligan Special Economic Authority (ISEZA), and Appropriating Funds Therefor" by Representative Celso G. Regencia

#### ii. "NSC Special Economic Zone Act"

1. House Bill No. 5737, "An Act Establishing a Special Economic Zone in the City of Iligan, Province of Lanao Del Norte, to be known as the "NSC Special Economic Zone," and Appropriating Funds Therefor" by Representatives Yedda Marie K. Romualdez and Jude A. Acidre

#### g. "Camarines Sur Special Economic Zone Act"

i. House Bill No. 3681, "An Act Establishing the Camarines Sur Special Economic Zone in the Province of Camarines Sur, Creating for Such Purpose the Camarines Sur Special Economic Zone Authority, Appropriating Funds Therefor and Other Purposes" by Representatives Luis Raymund "Lray" Villafuerte, Jr., Miguel Luis R. Villafuerte, Tsuyoshi Anthony G. Horibata and Nicolas C. Enciso VIII

#### h. "Occidental Mindoro Special Economic Zone and Freeport Authority Act"

i. House Bill No. 3696, "An Act Establishing a Special Economic Zone in the Municipalities of Abra De Ilog, Sta. Cruz and Mamburao Province of Occidental Mindoro, Creating for the Purpose the Occidental Mindoro Special Economic Zone and Freeport Zone and Freeport Authority (OMSEZA), and Appropriating Funds Therefor" by Representative Leody F. Tarriela

#### i. "Municipality of Sarangani Special Economic Zone Act"

i. House Bill No. 3748, "An Act Establishing a Special Economic Zone in the Municipality of Sarangani, Davao Occidental, Creating for that Purpose the Municipality of Sarangani Special Economic Zone Authority, Appropriating Funds Therefor and For Other Purposes" by Representative Claude P. Bautista

#### j. "The Maguindanao and Cotabato City Special Economic Zone Act"

i. **House Bill No. 3855**, "An Act Establishing Special Economic Zones in the Municipalities of the District of Maguindanao and in The City of Cotabato, and Appropriating Funds Therefor" by Representative Bai Dimple I. Mastura

#### k. "Misamis Occidental Economic Zone Act"

i. **House Bill No. 5236**, "An Act Establishing the Misamis Occidental Special Economic Zone in the Second District of the Province of Misamis Occidental and Appropriating Funds Therefor" by Representative Sancho Fernando "Ando" F. Oaminal

## l. "West Aklan Special Economic Zone Act"

i. **House Bill No. 7032**, "An Act Establishing The West Aklan Special Economic Zone in West Aklan, Province of Aklan, Creating for the Purpose the West Aklan Special Economic Zone Authority, and Appropriating Funds Therefor" by Representative Teodorico "Nonong" T. Haresco, Jr.

# NATIONAL BILL

- m. Proposed Amendment to Republic Act No. 9728, or the "Freeport Area of Bataan (FAB) Act of 2009"
  - i. **House Bill No. 7058**, "An Act Strengthening Further the Powers and Functions of the Authority of the Freeport Area of Bataan (AFAB), Amending for the Purpose Republic Act No. 9728, Otherwise Known as the "Freeport Area of Bataan (FAB) Act of 2009, as Amended by Republic Act No. 11453" by Representative Albert S. Garcia

#### VII. Other Matter

## VIII. Adjournment

#### **Invited Guests:**

National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA)

Philippine Economic Zone Authority (PEZA)

Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG)

Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA)

Civil Aviation Authority of the Philippines (CAAP)

Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corporation

(PAGCOR)

Department of Natural Resources (DENR)

Department of Finance (DOF) Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP) Bureau of Internal Revenue (BIR) Bureau of Customs (BOC)

Bureau of Immigration (BI)

 $Department\ of\ Labor\ and\ Employment\ (DOLE)$ 

Commission on Audit (COA)

Authority of the Freeport Area of Bataan (AFAB)

Local Government Units (LGUs): Municipality of Santa Cruz, Marinduque;

Province of Marinduque;

City of Surigao;

Municipalities of Tubigon, Calape, Loon and Maribojoc,

Bohol;

Brgy. Balubal, Cagayan de Oro City;

Province of Bulacan;

City of Maasin, Southern Leyte;

Municipalities of Bontoc, San Francisco, Hinundayan,

Southern Leyte;

Iligan City, Lanao del Norte;

Municipalities of Pili and Laor, Camarines Sur;

Municipalities of Abra De Ilog, Sta. Cruz and Mamburao,

Occidental Mindoro:

Municipality of Sarangani, Davao Occidental;

Maguindanao and Cotabato City;

Ozamiz City and Tangub City, Misamis Occidental; Municipalities of Ibajay, Tangalan, and Malay, Aklan;

Province of Bataan.